Autism Speaks Fear-Mongering FAIL

My apologies for the prolonged absence-still settling in after a wonderful trip to visit with family.

And no sooner had I returned to the blogosphere than my mind was blown by this editorial from Autism Speaks.  Not the article itself, which is the usual drivel about how you must give us teh moniez or autism will devour your children, destroy your marriage, and change all your Arabic numerals to binary.  It was the comments-777 and counting, standing almost unanimously against the fear-mongering and dehumanizing negativity that has long been this organization’s MO.  And that was just the start.

Yesterday, close to 250 people contributed to the This is Autism Flash Blog.  Self-advocates and parents.  Speaking and non-speaking.  All sharing their gifts, their challenges, their unique perspectives, all painting a picture of autism far deeper and more complex than a blue puzzle piece, far more positive than anything Autism Speaks ever wrote.

And then there was an article in the Huffington Post.  And Forbes.  And BlogHer.

Autism Speaks still makes a lot of money and wields a lot of power.  But I think this sudden onslaught of voices is the sound of the tide beginning to turn.

This entry was posted in Advocacy, Autism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autism Speaks Fear-Mongering FAIL

  1. suburp says:

    I feel that this last week or so has been exciting for all those who have been openly or just privately upset about AS for a long time. It’s like we all spoke up and look how many we are!
    I still believe we are all different and opposition to one group alone does not make a community but this is great, and so beneficial for parents who don’t know where to turn. Our voices – now louder, because AS does NOT speak for us 🙂

  2. I have been hearing a lot about that! A lot of parents with kids with autism spectrum disorders are really upset, because the statement seems to be saying that their children, by having autism, are not real children, but just shells of the children they were supposed to be. I have to admit sometimes I wish I was “normal.” But then I wouldn’t be me, and I wouldn’t know what it was like not to be normal, and I’d probably wish I was more unique!

    • Aspermama says:

      Yeah, it takes a lot of chutzpah to claim to speak on behalf of parents (and not to mention autistic people themselves) and make their children out to be less than fully human, and I think it really backfired this time.

      I know what you mean about wishing you were normal, I do too at times. But you make a good point that if we were normal, we might wish we were more like we are now!

Leave a Reply

